Accolades for Charles Street Suites:
Traveller's Award of Excellence
Top Guest Review Award, three consecutive years
Nominated as one of three finalists for Best of SW Service & Tourism
2017 Hotels Combined Award of Excellence for Customer Satisfaction
Featured and promoted in AMA's Westworld Magazine
Promoted by Southern Alberta Circle Tours
This charming two-storey is owned by Tobiah & Stacey Goldstein and the business is co-owned and operated by Joan & Ernie Kreeft of Lethbridge. Our Folk Victorian style house was built in 1910.
We acquired the house in 2007 and it has been a labour of love ever since. We take pride in creating an experience customized to the desires of our visitors, and to sharing the wonderful assets of our friendly city and the surrounding area. We are proud to contribute to the vibrancy of the historic London Road Neighbourhood of Lethbridge.
The railway viaduct at Lethbridge, Alberta. The trestle bridge at Lethbridge was completed by the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1909.
The house was renovated in 2014 and is now enjoyed by visitors from around the world.
As the railroad expanded across North America in the late 19th and early 20th Centuries, it brought Folk Victorian style homes to towns like Lethbridge. Folk Victorians can be identified by prefabricated trim, which was machine produced and shipped by rail just about anywhere. These embellishments appeared as brackets under the eaves of gabled roofs and as spindle or flat porch railings and trim. Some Folk Victorian houses were adorned with flat, jigsaw cut trim in a variety of patterns. Others had spindles, ginger -breading, and details borrowed from the Carpenter Gothic style. Folk Victorians are orderly and symmetrical houses. Most commonly, they did not have turrets, bay windows, or other complicated construction.
1272 8 Avenue South (formerly Charles Street) was acquired by Kebir McKillop in 1917, only to be resold to Norman and Isabel Murray just two years later. George and Mona Delany (Delany Meat Market) purchased the home in 1925. Our research indicates that the Delany Family maintained residence until 1936 when it was sold to Edward Tompkins, Operator at the old Capitol Theatre. James (Atlas Lumber) and Della (Galt Hospital) McCorkle owned the house from 1940 to 1953. Since that time, the property has changed hands several more times, and was owned by the Gardiner, Dahl, DeGroot, Muir, Richardson, Caldwell, Foulkes, McLean, Olsen, Dietrich, Morrow, Hately, Forsyth, Storfie, Prusky, and Goldstein Families.
We often think about the generations of people who made their lives in this home before us. The babies born here (including our own), the children raised here- evidence of their adventures still scratched into the hardwood floors. The spirits of residents past can still be felt in the walls; the feeling is warm and the energy of the house is welcoming.